Charting

The technical section

Moderator: Global Moderators

Gloswegian

Charting

Post by Gloswegian » Sat Sep 12, 2009 8:31 am

Hello all,

I'm looking for some reccomendations for a bit of software which will allow me to print my tree out on paper. Easy I hear you say.

I'm sure I am not the only one who would like to show siblings and others not "directly connected" but who are nonetheless quite significant in my family history. I have a fair number of multiple illegitimate births and some multiple illegitimacies which I would also like to show as they are very significant.

I use legacy 7 (the free version) which now has charting available but it does not have any of the features I am looking for and only does 4 generations.

Does the full version have more flexibility to show "all" members of the tree or is there something else available?

I have resorted to using paper and pencil and my writing is shocking!

I am not a doctor however and cannot even read my own scribble sometimes.

Gordon

LesleyB

Post by LesleyB » Sat Sep 12, 2009 9:56 am

Hi Gordon
I use legacy 7 (the free version) which now has charting available but it does not have any of the features I am looking for and only does 4 generations.

Does the full version have more flexibility to show "all" members of the tree or is there something else available?
I was not aware that the Standard version of Legacy only allowed 4 generations- the full version appears to have no limit on generations which can be shown on a chart.

It is possible to show siblings as well - it depends what kind of chart you choose. The descendant chart shows siblings, spouses etc, of everyone descended from your chosen person.

I don't know of any chart type which will show everyone in a family file - usually charts are either ancestor or descendant based, so some lines of folk are missed out in either version.