My GGG Grandfather John Dunlop

Looking for Scottish Ancestors

Moderator: Global Moderators

johndunlop1980

My GGG Grandfather John Dunlop

Post by johndunlop1980 » Sun Jun 29, 2014 8:19 pm

Hi everyone, my name is John Dunlop.

I'm a beginner at all of this but pretty much hooked already. A bit lost in finding a John Dunlop who was married to Agnes McHarg sometime before 1863.

I have them on their son William Dunlop's marriage certificate in 1882 John was a Coal Miner according to that. I can't find a birth certificate for William who was born abt 1863 and the last census record I have for him is in 1881 where he is an 18 year old boarder with the Wilson family.

According to the census William was born in Ayr, Ayrshire, and it's the 1881 Census, Glasgow Parish, Gorbals; ED: 24; Page: 8; Line: 9; Roll: cssct1881_246.

I haven't been able to find William on earlier census' his marriage was in the Gorbals in Glasgow to Helen McConnell.

I've been on Scotlandspeople.gov and tried quite a few different search concoctions to no avail unfortunately, I have viewed some records that turned out to be the wrong people:

In an attempt to find Williams Birth Cert:
Dunlop, William (Statutory Births 597/00 0887) 1863 Kilmarnock - Wrong Parents
Dunlop, William (Statutory Births, 595/00 0117) 1863 Irvine - Wrong Parents

I tried a few years at either side, and a few different spellings to no avail.

I then tried to find Agnes McHarg using the same methods working back from Williams assumed year of birth. I found one possible but I am unsure as to how to verify its correct.
McHarg, Agnes (O.P.R Births 888/00 0020 0019 Kirkcowan) 1834 Kirkcowan near Stranraer making her about 29 when she had William.

I realise that I'm probably missing something really simple but I'm strugging to think of what to search for next. Any ideas? Is there a resource somewhere that has records of Coal Miners names?