Thomas Hume: plumber & gasfitter, Stafford Street, Edinburgh

Occupations and the like.

Moderator: Global Moderators

doddie

Thomas Hume: plumber & gasfitter, Stafford Street, Edinburgh

Post by doddie » Sun Jun 06, 2010 7:20 pm

I have a combination of questions. My g.grandfather Alexander Stewart (1867-1925) was a plumber by trade and in 1900 set up his own business in Argyll. Prior to that he worked for Thomas Hume (& Son?) a plumber and gasfitter with premises at 2a Stafford Street, Edinburgh. I am trying to establish whether, as a rule, the numbering of streets stays the same. Secondly, does anybody possibly know if there exists a photographic archive relating to the area near Stafford street. Finally, (I promise) is there anyone out there who is related to Thomas Hume? I would like to find out a bit more about him. All I know in addition to the above is that he was born c. 1841 and his later private family residence was in Cambridge Street (opposite the Usher Hall) in Edinburgh and that the business was still operating under the same name until at least the 1970's.

Regards

Doddie

Hibee

Re: Thomas Hume: plumber & gasfitter, Stafford Street, Edinburgh

Post by Hibee » Sun Jun 06, 2010 7:39 pm

Hi Doddie

I believe that, when street numbering was first introduced, it was rather haphazard. It was standardised, I think, in the mid 19th century, and generally numbered outwards from the town/city centre.

Have not found any old pics of Stafford Street, but Alexander may have popped in here after a hard day's plumbing.

Hibee
www.adams-of-adamsrow.com
Adam(s): Newton, Midlothian
Brock: Orkney/Leith
Bridges: Leith
Sweeney: Ireland/Leith
Brown: Edinburgh/Hamilton

AndrewP
Site Admin

Post by AndrewP » Sun Jun 06, 2010 11:22 pm

Hi Doddie,

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?hl=en&q=s ... 61,,1,3.85