A child who lived only one day - birth or death certificate?

Southern part of Great Britain

Moderator: Global Moderators

Mo-anne

A child who lived only one day - birth or death certificate?

Post by Mo-anne » Wed May 02, 2012 10:09 pm

This is my first attempt at trying to trace an "English" ancestor so I'd appreciate advice on how to pursue this.

My ggg grandfather (Jaques Hartenstein) arrived in England in the 19th century from France. I know he married in 1853 in Lambeth. However, I have recently found several references in BMD indexes to a Jaques Louis Hartenstein who was born and died on 30th July 1851. I don't know if this person is related but the surname was uncommon and Louis was the second name given by my ggg grandfather to one of his sons.

How can I get more information - i have found the event listed in deaths and in births, never in both : one site I checked included the info that JLH lived on only 30th July. Should there be two entries or only one? Should I apply for a birth certificate or a death certificate? Or both?

Many thanks. Mo-anne

Elwyn 1

Re: A child who lived only one day - birth or death certific

Post by Elwyn 1 » Wed May 02, 2012 10:57 pm

I have come across this in my own research, where a child died within a day or so of being born. There was no birth certificate. I don’t think the parents had got around to registering it and so when the baby died they just registered the death alone. Whether they should have registered the birth is another matter but they evidently didn’t. Probably couldn’t see any point.

Colin D. Rogers in his excellent book The family tree detective: a manual for tracing your ancestors in England and Wales notes that registration of deaths was more complete than that of births in the early years of civil registration but goes on to say:

Research suggests that underregistration [of deaths] was worst in the period 1841-46, and that the majority of those missing were probably young infants.