Frasers of Fort William

Looking for Scottish Ancestors

Moderator: Global Moderators

mmacto

Frasers of Fort William

Post by mmacto » Sun May 23, 2021 2:33 pm

Hello,
This is my first post and I’m a rank newbie at genealogy so please bear with me and my apologies if this is in the wrong place.
I am researching my maternal line of Frasers out of Fort William. I was adopted in 1961 in Canada so I’ve discovered this line through DNA. I’ve done both 23 and me and ancestry.ca
Grandfather was Peter MacDonald Fraser. Grandmother was Catherine Mary MacGowan. They married in Fort William in 1939. My mother born to them in Fort William in 1941. They immigrated to Canada in the mid 40s.
Paternal Great Grandfather James Wyness Fraser. Lived on High St, Glengarry buildings. Owned an auto service station on Linnhe road, Fort William . Died 1943 . wife was Madge MacDonald
Maternal Great Grandfather was John MacGowan. I’ve seen him listed as a farmer in the census. Says in my adoption information that he was an entertainer ,so I’m not sure.
Wife was Annie MacGowan(maiden name Kilpatrick). According to valuation roles , she owned Rhu Mhor Inn on Alda street in Fort William in the 1930s.
I tried contacting the current operator of the Rhu Mbor guesthouse in Fort William but my emails just bounce back so I’m not sure if it’s still in business.
I’m wondering if anyone had anymore information. I’ve looked through Scotland’s people extensively and feel I keep going on the wrong track after the relatives I’ve listed.
Thank you!

WilmaM

Re: Frasers of Fort William

Post by WilmaM » Sun May 23, 2021 10:44 pm

[TS_welcome]
We all started out as rank newbies so you are in good company ;)

I found the best way to get the bare framework for my trees was to focus on the marriage certificates.
That will give you not only the names, address and occupation plus approx. birth year of the couple in question, but both sets of parents' names and a possibility of family as witnesses too.